Eligibility & Guidelines

Eligibility & Rules

The Architizer A+Firm Awards are open to all firms involved in architecture, design, planning and construction. The A+Awards is an international awards program and participants of all nationalities are welcome.

There is no limit to the number of entries that may be submitted by any entrant, nor is there a limit to the number of categories you may enter. A completed online entry form and fee must accompany each entry.

Eligibility of Built/Unbuilt Projects
For Best of the Year and Typology categories, submitted projects can be built or unbuilt, but at least 3 projects must have been completed (built) within the last 10 years (with the exception of the Conceptual Typology Award, dedicated to unbuilt works). For Specialization categories, non-built works (such as renderings and photographs) are eligible as long as they have been created in the last 10 years. Detailed requirements specific to each award category can be found on the
Award Categories page.

Unacceptable Material
Entries that contain pornographic material, propagate “hate” messages, make defamatory statements or which are otherwise extraordinarily offensive are not eligible.

Ineligible entries may be disqualified at any phase of the competition without notification.

Acknowledgment of Entries
Entrants will receive an email acknowledgment when an entry has been received.

Terms of Use
To learn about our Terms of Use
click here.

Entry Fees & Deadline

Applicable entry fees according to Entry Period and Award Category can be viewed here.

Accepted Formats/
Entry Type Info

Award Types

Best of the Year Awards
The Best of the Year Awards are given to architecture and design firms at the forefront of their discipline, demonstrating innovative and creative thinking, as well as impeccable detailing and execution, across a range of projects. Categories are defined by firm size and geographic location, with an additional award reserved for young firms founded in the last 10 years. Firms are encouraged to submit for both size- and geography-based awards to maximize their chances of securing an accolade.

Typology Awards
The Typology Awards are given to architecture and design firms excelling in a specific architectural typology. These awards spotlight the in-depth knowledge of firms that have the ability to respond to unique programmatic challenges, designing buildings that are exemplary in their genre. There are also dedicated awards for landscape architecture and interior design. Firms that specialize in more than one type of project are encouraged to enter multiple Typology Award categories to maximize their chances of securing an accolade.

Specialization Awards
Great buildings are only made possible by great teams. The Specialization Awards seek to recognize the unique expertise of everyone involved in the design process, from concept to completion. This includes rendering studios, architectural photographers, engineers and real estate developers. The Specialization Awards also includes categories for firms that have unique bodies of work that are conceptually connected, for example: humanitarian, small projects, collaborations, and projects in the public realm.

Detailed Entry Instructions

Online Entry
Entries must be entered online using the online entry form. An entry is considered processed after a completed entry form is received by Architizer A+Firm Awards and payment for the entry fee is received. The Architizer A+Firm Awards reserves the right to re-categorize entries and to create new categories if appropriate.

The Entry Process

After you have registered, you will be asked to provide the following company information for your submission:

  • Firm Name
  • Firm Location (city and country)
  • Firm URL
  • Firm Description and Mission

Category Selection: You will be asked to select from 3 Award Types — Best of the Year Awards, Typology Awards, and Specialization Awards. A detailed description of these can be found here. You will then select the specific Award Category you want to enter. There are 32 Award Categories in total, spread across the 3 Award Types.

After selecting your chosen award category, you will be invited to “Add Another Category”. Firms are encouraged to multiple relevant categories to maximize their chances of securing an accolade.

Submission of projects: Once your categories are selected, click “Save and Next”. You will then be invited to submit a minimum of 3 projects (you can upload a maximum of 6). For each project, the following information should be provided:

  • Project Title
  • Project Year and Location
  • Project Status (Built or Unbuilt)
  • Entry Description (300 words)
  • Collaboration credits (Optional)
  • Upload 1-8 images for each project (Images: 20MB max each, jpg, jpeg or pdf format, single images only, no collages.)

Review and checkout: When you have uploaded all your projects, click “save and submit”.

  • You will see a summary of all your submissions. If you would like to review your entries, use the “select” option next to each submission.
  • If you would like to submit modified materials for another category, click the “copy application” link next to the relevant submission to copy your application, then change its category and modify information as needed. 
  • If you would like to begin a completely new submission, simply click the "Make Another Submission" button below your checkout details.

Entry Fee Payment: Once you are happy with all your submissions, click the “Checkout” button to proceed to payment. You have the option to pay by credit card or paypal.

Once payment has been confirmed you will receive a confirmation email.


For questions or comments related to the Architizer A+Awards Call for Entries, please email us at

For Chinese Entrants

中国参赛者请注意:有意向报名A+Firm Awards的中国参赛者,可寻求第三方机构协助参赛事宜。所有参赛作品资料须以英文提交。建议联系我们的中国独家合作伙伴 — — 全球设计奖项研究所,协助您报名参赛。了解更多相关信息及费用,请联系周三霞女士(邮箱:rita@design-encounters.com)。